With the typical PNW weather keeping people inside we had plenty of activity inside here at BTTC. We had the Club Championships, the 60 Day Challenge, the high school team tennis league, and the high school girls pre-season camp all packed in this month. It is a good feeling to come to work with so much activity and helps me not dwell on the dreary days outside.

The Club Championship Tennis Tournament was a very fun and competitive weekend. We had 103 entries along with 4 great Chili’s to taste in the Chili Cook-Off. All the chili’s were fantastic with new member Leisa Quadt taking first place. I also want to give a big shout out to Pat Balfour for providing the hot dogs that let me have my favorite, a chili dog. Thanks to all the participants for making this annual event so successful and fun. (results below)

Staff Spotlight!

Zoe Jovanovich took on the high school leagues that the USTA provided grant money for this fall (thank you AnnElise). After running the girls’ league in the fall, she was determined to make the mixed team tennis league better.

Well, she knocked it out of the park. The matches were played on Friday and Saturday evenings and the team matches had girls’ and boys’ singles and doubles and mixed doubles.

We officially had 91 kids participating in the Winter HS League representing 6 different schools (two schools had two teams). Each participant received a personal participation award with their winning percentage, participation percentage, and sets and games won. She then concluded the 8-week program with a potluck awards and play evening this past Saturday.

Here are the Awards that were given out:

League Champions

  • Sehome HS – Mariners

Team Sportsmanship Award

  • Liam Oscarson
    (Squalicum HS – Lightning Team)
  • GiGi Searle (Burlington-Edison HS)

Highest Percentage of Games Won

  • Zach Chai
    (Sehome Mariners Team)

Most Sets Played

  • Zach Chai (Sehome M)
  • Calvin Kraynak (Sehome M)
  • Brady Wakatsuki (Lynden HS)

100% Team Player Award

(Player Competed in All 7 of their Team’s Matches)

  • Nate Lyon (Bellingham HS)
  • Brady Wakatsuki (Lynden)
  • Eva Ekdahl (Sehome A Team)
  • Harley Kaiser (Sehome A)
  • Zach Chai (Sehome M)
  • Calvin Kraynak (Sehome M)

This was such a well-run program I believe Zoe deserves the “Best Junior Program Coordinator” award!

That is it for now so Happy Early Spring.